You are here: Home > Council Members

Council Members

Antony Ruck

Antony Ruck (Chair): Assistive Technology Consultant

Antony Ruck has worked in the AT industry for over 15 years at senior management level, working with manufacturers, publishers and service providers to deliver first class products and customer experience. Now working as a freelance AT Industry Consultant, Antony provides information, advice and guidance on service delivery, operations, commercial development, sales and marketing, and event management.


John Lamb

John Lamb (Executive Director): Ability Magazine

John Lamb is publisher and editor of Ability magazine, the long-established publication about technology for disabled people. As a journalist John has covered information technology developments for nearly 40 years. He is a member of the BCS Digital Accessibility Specialist Group and the Worshipful Company of Information Technologists' Accessibility Panel.

Terry Waller

Terry Waller (Secretary)

Terry Waller is an Independent Education, Inclusion and Technology Consultant and a Trustee of Deafax. Previously he was Head of Inclusion Policy at Becta, where he held a range of SEN and inclusion management posts (1990-2011). Prior to that he was an education and children's librarian in several local authorities.

Sal Cooke

Sal Cooke (Director): Independent

Sal Cooke was until recently Director of JISC TechDis. Having worked in the transport industry for a time, Sal returned to teach in Schools, Colleges of Further Education and the University Sector in Yorkshire and Humberside. Sal was seconded to various national agencies including the then Department for Education and Skills, working on the e-learning programmes and the Harnessing Technology Strategy. Currently Sal is personally particularly interested and involved with the work of the Independent Specialist Colleges sector.

Matthew Dean

Matthew Dean (Director): Assistive Technology Consultant

Matthew Dean is an assistive technology consultant working with clients across the education, corporate and public sectors to identify the right solution for individuals and organisations. With extensive insight into cloud-based and integrated software products, Matt has previously worked in both the DSA  and corporate sector.

Paul Doyle

Paul Doyle (Director): Hereward College

Paul Doyle has been engaged in the field of Assistive Technology since 1995 in a variety of operational and strategic roles. He currently manages the Access Centre at Hereward College (which played an integral role in the origin and development of the Disabled Students Allowance programme).

Paul also leads a team of researchers undertaking projects in and around the field of assistive technology, with objectives as diverse as capturing the user experience of innovations in AT to workforce development requirements projects for the assessment and installation of telehealth and telecare assistive technologies.

Muzzamil Lakhani

Muzzamil Lakhani (Director): Fram3

Muzzamil Lakhani, who has a master’s degree in computer science, is the founder of high tech start-ups Fram3 and WhatAData. He is also an executive board member of the charity Bristol Disability Equality Forum and runs a technology helpline for the British Computer Association of the Blind.

Myles Pilling

Myles Pilling (Director): AccessAbility Solutions

Myles Pilling is an accessibility consultant at AccessAbility Solutions. Myles has over 30 years’ teaching experience. He is a parent of an adult with learning disabilities. Has been involved with ICT and SEN since the early 80s and has a passion to see pupils reach their full potential through the use of ICT.

Chris Quickfall

Chris Quickfall (Director): e-Quality Learning

Chris Quickfall is CEO of e-Quality Learning, a company with the mission to develop the skills, improve the productivity, and increase the opportunities available to disabled individuals. The company provides over 20,000 hours of training face-to-face, manages over 10,000 IT support contracts throughout the UK and adapts over 3,000 Windows or Apple operating systems each year for individuals needing specialist support.

Jonathan Rouse

Jonathan Rouse (Director): Microlink PC

Jonathan Rouse is national account manager for Microlink PC. The company, which was founded over 25 years ago,  can assess, advise, supply, train and support anyone looking to break down a barrier caused by their conditions. Microlink PC supplies a wide range of assistive technology and tools while its workplace adjustment service, MiCase - is used by some of the largest corporations in the country.

David Atkinson

David Atkinson (Co-opted): Wyvern Business Systems

David Atkinson has worked in the assistive technology industry for nearly 10 years. Initially, he worked as a trainer, gaining a reputation for good training skills, very much helped by his own experience of dyslexia. He is currently Chair of the ATSP Special Interest Group of BATA and Business Development Manager for Wyvern Business Systems. His passion for helping people with learning difficulties is said to enthuse others around him and in the last year David has designed, developed and put to market a training portal with over 300 videos and PDFs.

Graham Coiley

Graham Coiley (Co-opted): Amanotech

Graham Coiley is the Business Director of Amano Technologies; supplier of Assistive Technologies based in the South West. With a background in health and education he is currently a Community College Governor and has a teaching role in Further Education, thus seeing first-hand the positive impact of technology in education.

Gemma Holtam

Gemma Holtam (Co-Opted): University of Sheffield

As Assistive Technology Officer, Gemma Holtam is responsible for managing the AT service at the University of Sheffield. Her duties include promoting the service to students, developing training materials and teaching students how to use AT. She also works with colleagues across the university to develop their awareness and skills in relation to creating accessible teaching and learning material.

Ian Litterick

Ian Litterick (Co-opted): Iansyst

Ian Litterick founded iansyst Ltd in 1983 and is currently Executive Chairman. iansyst has specialised in technology tools for dyslexia and disabilities since 1995 and publishes the web site amongst others. He Chairs the BATA DSA suppliers group. He is committed to improving access to text and learning for reading impaired people through the Right to Read Campaign and by bringing appropriate Assistive Technology to the mainstream.

Mark McCusker

Mark McCusker (Co-opted): Texthelp

Mark McCusker is the CEO of Texthelp Systems Ltd since 1998, during which time Texthelp has evolved to become a world leader in the provision of assisitve technology for struggling readers in multiple geographic markets.

Sarah-Jane Peake

Sarah-Jane Peake (Co-opted): Launchpad Assistive Technology

Sarah-Jane Peake is the founder of Launchpad Assistive Technology - a provider of AT training with integrated study strategies. As a consultant and learning strategist, Sarah-Jane has worked on a diverse range of projects with leading AT software publishers. She also recently launched a new YouTube tutorial channel, Launchpad TV.

Paul Smyth

Paul Smyth (Co-opted): Barclays

Paul Smyth is responsible for identifying, anticipating and addressing technological barriers faced by disabled and older customers and colleagues in doing business with or being employed by the bank. His remit includes equipping digital and change teams with training and tools, boosting business awareness, setting/policing accessibility standards and measuring the benefits that accessibility brings.